Have you cast your vote for WeAreTheCity’s 2017 Rising Star Awards shortlist? Voting closes at midnight on Friday 9 June 2017.

The public vote of support is now open for all shortlisted nominees. The public vote only determines one winner out of the five winners of each category, the other four winners are decided by our judges.

Over an eight week period, we received 1,250 nominations from across the UK and Northern Ireland. The calibre of entries for this years awards was exceptional. All of the judges stated how difficult it was to arrive at the shortlist due to the amazing achievements of our nominees. To everyone who was nominated, congratulations, you should be exceptionally proud.

On behalf of The Times & The Sunday Times and our supporting sponsors, it gives us great pleasure to announce the 2017 Rising Star awards shortlist and to congratulate all of the shortlisted individuals. We are very much looking forward to celebrating your achievements at an event kindly sponsored by Bloomberg on the 8 June 2017.

The shortlist will now be judged by an additional set of expert judges, and the winners announced on 19 June. All winners will also be invited to celebrate their awards at a celebratory event at News UK on 12 July.

We would like to thank our shortlist judges for giving up their time to support this years awards:

Paul Sesay, Simone Roche, Mairi McHaffie, Baroness Mary Goudie, Dr Yvonne Thompson CBE, Funke Abimbola, Eleanor Mills, Stig Abell, Jane Hill and Helene Reardon-Bond OBE.

We would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all of the shortlisted individuals and wish them the very best of luck in the final round of judging.